{couture} oscar fashion

So, overall, I felt kind of disappointed with the Oscar fashion last night.  It did feel very spring-y with lots of purple and floral prints, but there was something missing.  I was sad that some of my usual favorites weren’t there!  Where were Anne Hathaway, Kate Hudson, and Natalie Portman??  We had some friends over last night to watch and rate the red carpet.  Here are some of the highlights:

Elizabeth Banks in Versace.  The grey color and the ruffles were so pretty.  Also loved her thin, sparkly headband.  (This was my friend Emily’s favorite.  She is also blonde and fair and could rock a grey dress!)

Maggie Gyllenhaal in Dries Van Noten.  I don’t often like patterned dresses, but I thought this one was perfect for Maggie.  Really interesting and kind of bohemian, but still elegant.

Zoe Kravitz in Alexis Mabille. Adorable.  Love the dark red/pale pink combo.

 

Diane Kruger in Chanel.  I bet there will be a lot of debate about this one, but I dug it.  She looked amazing.

So I hate J.Lo, but she did look pretty amazing in this Armani Prive.  Her makeup and jewelry were spot on.

Rachel McAdams in Elie Saab. AMAZING.  I think this is maybe her best red carpet ever.  I love, love, love this dress. Perfect.

SJP in Chanel Haute Couture.  My favorite of the evening (no surprise there).  STUNNING.  This dress was so beautiful and her hair and makeup were the best. I love her bracelets too. (This was also my sister Katie’s favorite… no surprise there either; she is my mini-me.)

Queen Latifah in Badgley Mischka. I think this may have been her best red carpet ever as well.  This color was so lovely on her and the dress was killer.  Did you see the back when she presented!?  And I am dying over her earrings – the pink sapphires and pearls.  Fabulous.

Zoe Saldana in Givenchy.  Ok, so I gasped when I first saw her from the waist up.  She was radiant and the top of the dress was so gorgeous… but then I saw the bottom of the dress… and I was really disappointed.  Another one I think people will be on the fence about.  Unfortunately, I do not like this one.

Meryl Streep in Chris March.  If we can all only age as well as Meryl… She looked incredible in this white gown.  I loved the plunge in the front.  Hair and makeup were lovely.  Great red carpet for Meryl.

Charlize Theron in Christian Dior.  I usually really like Charlize, but I was not a fan of this.  The boys viewing the Oscars with us liked the, ahem, chest adornments on the dress but the girls thought it was weird and unflattering (and we all know that girls are ALWAYS right).

Sandra Bullock in Marchesa. She looked pretty great (and I am usually not a fan).  I thought her hair and makeup were perfect.  And her acceptance speech was touching.

Also on the fence about Vera Farmiga in Marchesa.  I usually like Marchesa, and the color is to die for, but this is not my favorite.  Maybe too many ruffles?

Who are your picks for best dressed?  Who were you not feeling?

March 8, 2010. couture.

5 Comments

  1. denise replied:

    too many ruffles?!?! who are you and what have you done with my fashionmate? loved the marchesa gown because it even looked lovely when vera was seated…a chair full of ruffles! rachel mcadams was my favorite by far. loved miley cyrus’s dress HATE her voice, mannerisms, and her apparent inability to stand up straight!

    great oscar recap!

    • coutureandcupcakes replied:

      For some reason, I just didn’t love the ruffles on that one! I actually also liked Miley’s dress, but felt like it was age inappropriate. And you are right, she needs to stand up straight!!

  2. april replied:

    I was out all day and knew I was missing this post! I loved J Lo, Sandra B., Queen L, Meryl and Kate Winslet. I did not like SJP. Ducking so you don’t hit me in the head. I know.. you love her and I usually do too, but her shape was lost in this and I can’t get past that look.

    great post!

    • coutureandcupcakes replied:

      Thanks April! I knew you’d want to do the Oscar recap! And you are WRONG about SJP! 😉

      • april replied:

        I loved her dress, but not on her. I thought it was a work of art, but it was like a sack. I know it’s a popular fit/style, but I just like the fitted look best. Love your blog! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

