{couture} the met’s costume institute gala

 I LOVE seeing what everyone wore to the Met’s Costume Institute Gala every year. This year’s exhibition is American Woman: Fashioning a National Identity. While I am not as excited to see that exhibition as I have been for others in the past, the women who attended the gala last night really rocked the red carpet.

Oprah was the co-host this year with Anna Wintour.  I think Oprah’s dress is a beautiful color and shape, but I think her hair is fighting with her skirt.  She should have worn a sleeker style with such a statement ball-gown.

I think Anna and her daughter Bea look amazing, but I find it odd that Anna wore Chanel to celebrate an exhibition about American fashion…  as the host, shouldn’t she have chosen an American designer?  Bea is wearing Balenciaga Edition – stunning.

Zoe Saldana and Diane Kruger, both in Calvin Klein Collection look flawless.  Love the sleek, long-sleeve looks.  They are both so lovely.

The Marchesa ladies look so pretty!  Georgina Chapman (right) may be the new cutest pregant celebrity.  She looks like a confection.  I like Eva’s Marchesa dress too.  She looks like a doll between the taller Keren Craig and Georgina, and the icy color is delicious.

Nicole Richie in Marc Jacobs looks super modern and glamorous.  I love the relaxed silhouette of her dress.  She looks so comfortable.

Vera Wang and Mila Kunis both look fantasic in dresses by Vera Wang.  I think Mila is so elegant.  Her makeup and hair are perfect.

Carey Mulligan is, as usual, adorable.  I love her short Miu Miu dress and black tights and shoes.  She really stands out.

I am dying over Chloë Sevigny’s  Proenza Schouler green lace dress!  She looks amazing.  The color is perfect and the silhouette is spot on.

Camilla Belle would look good in a sack, but she is stunning in this red chiffon Jason Wu dress.  It fits perfectly.

Full disclosure: I do not like Jessica Biel.  Probably mainly because I love Justin Timberlake and I don’t like them together.  At any rate, she looked like a hot mess last night.  I don’t like her Ralph Lauren dress and what is going on with her hair!?

Could Anne Hathaway be more beautiful!?  This Valentino dress is STUNNING.  She looks fantastic in gold and that retro silhouette is meant for her.

SJP in Halston Heritage looks fantastic, as usual.  I like the nod to the 70’s.  She looks relaxed and elegant.

*sigh* Ralph and Ricky Lauren look ridiculous.  Which is really a shame because Ralph Lauren is American fashion.

Viola Davis in Vera Wang is on the top of her game.  The deep purple is so beautiful on her.  As is the strapless neckline and bow at the waist.  LOVE this one.

Donna Karan’s white dress also feels like an homage to the 70’s, and I love it.  She also looks relaxed and glamorous.

I LOVE Gwen Stefani.  I think she is just really cool.  Her L.A.M.B dress is great.  The fit is so good and I love her signature hair and red lips.  Gavin also looks yummy!

Love Stella McCartney.  She dressed Liv and Kate and they both look great.  I especially love the neckline and slit on Kate’s dress.

Donatella is looking really skinny…

I love that Chanel Iman wore a jumpsuit.  You know I love my sequins!  She looks amazing.

I feel no love for Gayle King… or her big purple dress.

January Jones looks SO GOOD!  One of my favorite looks of the night.  This hot pink Yves Saint Laurent is striking.  I love her gloves, and her hair and makeup.

Rachel Weisz is lovely in hot pink Oscar de la Renta.  I really like her loose hair and simple gold accessories.

Emma Watson is wearing Burberry, as usual, and as usual, she looks super hip.

I usually really like Christina Hendricks, and I never shy away from a big embellishment, but I don’t like this pile of feathers on her shoulder.  The dress would have been so pretty without it.  The color is amazing.

Emmy Rossum, also in blue, this time by Kenneth Cole, looks super modern!  Love the dress, hair, and necklace.  This is a different look for her and it definitely works.

I’m not a big J. Lo fan, but she has really been working the red carpet lately!  This Zuhair Murad dress is so beautiful.  She looks really pretty.

Claire Danes, in Burberry, looks sleek and modern.  I love the liquid metal look of this dress.  She wears strapless a lot, and it works for her.

Naomi Watts looks so good in this raspberry dress.  Love the ruffle on the shoulder.  Her hair and makeup are really great too.  She, like Rachel Weisz, accessoried her bright pink dress with gold accessories.

I’m on the fence about this Rachel Zoe look.  I really like that she wore this mustardy-yellow velvet Marc Jacobs because it is different, and of course her jewelry is to-die-for, but I don’t like how this emphasizes her boniness.  And I wish she’d smile!

Emma Roberts is really making a fashion name for herself.  She has looked great at all the events she has recently attended.  I love this short Marni dress paired with mary janes.  She looks really young and hip.  I think she should hang out with Emma Watson.

Blake Lively is another celeb who I think always looks great.  I love this Marchesa dress in blue (a big color last night).  I’m not crazy about the shoes, but the dress makes up for it.

Melissa George, like Rachel Zoe, went for mustard-yellow.  I think this dress is so lovely on her.  That color is hard to wear, and it is super flattering on her.

Renée Zellweger always wears Carolina Herrera, and she always looks great.  This dress is really glamorous.  I’m also digging her new, short hair.

I loved the themes of vintage glamour and color last night.  Great looks.  I am dying to see some photos of the actual gala decor… if I find them, I will be sure to share.

All images from style.com.

May 4, 2010. couture.

7 Comments

  1. Katie replied:

    I’m a huge fan of the short dress; it’s my length of choice, even for events more on the formal side, so I love that so many celebs went with it. I especially love Emma’s dress! So cute! My other favorite is Nicole Richie’s! What an awesome look!

  2. and flowers pick themselves replied:

    the moment i saw oprah’s dress, i fell in love. i agree about her hair not working, but the dress is so marvelous. it may be my favorite from the evening.

    xo Alison

  3. tony replied:

    Ralph needs someone in the room telling him what to wear.

    Mustard Yellow is for hotdogs, not dresses.

  4. April replied:

    Love Oprah’s dress…heard about it on Oprah radio today and also heard she did her hair to match the skirt. Now I SEE what she means, but agree…too much!

    Everyone else is lovely. I enjoy Gayle King, but that dress is just so blah.

    Pretty stuff! Thanks.

  5. Mary replied:

    Renee Zellweger is my favorite.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

