emmy award {style}

Award show season kicked off last night with the Prime Time Emmy Awards.  There were some great looks on the red carpet (and some awful ones too).

Here are my best dressed picks:

Lea Michele in Oscar de la Renta.  She looked gorgeous!  Loved the navy taffeta, the ruffles, the hair, and that fabulous necklace!

Jayma Mays in Burberry Prorsum.  Another Glee girl in navy.  Fabulous color choice with her red hair!  I loved the sleek silhouette and the bold gold jewelry.

Jane Krakowski in Escada.  Also in navy (a huge trend last night, of which I am a huge fan).  I was happy to see Jane in something different.  Loved the one-shoulder and the gorgeous shimmering fabric.

Claire Danes in Armani Privé. STUNNING.  I think she looks better and better all the time.  The dress was a simple strapless silhouette, which she often favors, but I loved the all-over beading.  The color was beautiful on her.

Glee’s Heather Morris in Ina Soltani also went for full on beading.  She looks so great!  LOVE the sequins, the gold dress with black accents, and her perfect red lipstick.

Tina Fey in Oscar de la Renta.  So glam!  I loved the detail on this dress and the great shape.  Also loved her hair.  I think this may be her best red carpet ever.

January Jones in Atelier Versace.  People are divided on this one, but I loved it.  January is fashion forward and takes big risks, which I enjoy.  She looked dynamite.

Kristen Wiig in ?. I love this black and white dress with the great embellishment on the shoulders.  She looks fantastic.

Elisabeth Moss in Donna Karen.  I think that Elisabeth looks so lovely in this pale greige dress.  Her hair and makeup were also flawless.

Anna Paquin in Alexander McQueen.  Gorgeous.  I love, love, love this dress and I think it was the perfect choice for her.  So strong and so glamorous.

Ok, now for the not so fabulous.

I love Dianna Agron on Glee and I think she is lovely, but this dress is like an awful tablecloth.  I hate it.

Kyra Sedgwick usually looks sleek and beautiful, but I hated this awful crinkly maroon gown.  And her hair was too messy.

Again, HUGE fan of Christina Hendricks – I really don’t think there are many people more beautiful than Christina, but I just can’t get behind this awful lilac gown.  The feathers make me cringe.

Emily Deschanel is also lovely, but made a bad, bad choice.  This dress is awful.

Julia Louis-Dreyfus always wears Narcisco Rodriguez, and usually looks amazing and sleek, but I really do not like the sheer midsection of this gown.  Her earrings, hair, and makeup, however, are fabulous.

Rita Wilson!? Again, usually sophisticated and lovely.  This number is just awful.  And the shoes are beyond terrible.

Images from instyle.com and style.com.

Who were your picks for best and worst dressed?

August 30, 2010. style.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

