{recipe} lentil bulgur salad

My mom was always a big fan of Mollie Katzen and the Moosewood Cookbooks and made us all sorts of yummy vegetarian fare at home when I was growing up.  This lentil bulgur salad was/is one of my favorites.  I love lentils, and this recipe is super healthy and makes a great lunch.

The Recipe:

  • 1 cup dry lentils/2 cups water
  • 1 cup dry bulgur wheat/1 cup boiling water
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 medium cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1 tbs freshly minced mint
  • black pepper, to taste
  • 2 to 3 tbs freshly minced dill
  • 1/4 cup packed freshly minced parsley
  • 1/3 cup minced red onion
  • 1 small bell pepper, diced (I like red)
  • 1/2 stalk celery, finely minced
  • 1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

(The recipe also calls for 1/2 cup nicoise olives, 1 medium tomato, diced, and 1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts.  My mom never included those, so I don’t, although I think the tomato would be good.  I hate olives, so I always take them out of every recipe!)

  1. Place the lentils in a medium size saucepan, cover with water, and bring just to the boiling point.  Turn heat way down, partially cover, and allow to simmer without agitation for 20 to 25 minutes.  Drain well.  Transfer to a large bowl.
  2. While the lentils are cooking, place the bulgur in a small bowl.  Add boiling water, cover with a plate, and let stand for 15 minutes.
  3. Prep other ingredients.
  4. Add everything to the lentils, except tomato and walnuts (if using). Mix gently but thorougly.  Cover and refrigerate.
  5. Top with tomato and walnuts just before serving.

YUM!

July 28, 2010. recipe.

One Comment

  1. Mary replied:

    Thanks for posting it – I can’t find my recipe!

Leave a comment

Trackback URI